Colchester Castle

The castle is Norman but built on the ruins of a Roman temple that itself was built when Colchester was the Roman capital of Britain.

After visiting the Martin Parr exhibition last week I took a walk up to the castle and through the park on my way to the station.

The castle is Norman but built on the ruins of a Roman temple that itself was built when Colchester was the Roman capital of Britain. The keep is the largest ever built in the UK and one and half times bigger than the White Tower at the Tower of London. Some people have speculated that it could have had up to four storeys.

There are some great exhibitions inside the castle that explain the history of the town but today I wanted to stay outside and walk around the extensive park. I believe the park was first landscaped by the Victorians and still wins awards. I think one of my first dates was a visit to the park and a game of crazy golf! I have been to many many events held here over the years from fireworks displays to proms in the park and the military tattoo but it is also lovely just listening to whatever is playing in the bandstand on a sunny afternoon.