St Botolph’s Priory

Actually called the priory of St Julien and St Botolph this is the first Augustinian priory in the UK.

While I was in Colchester I took the opportunity to take a few photographs in the town centre. I can’t believe that I have never taken photos of some of the main sights before!

First up was a quick visit to St Botolph’s Priory. I think the last time I went in here was more than 30 years ago on my way home from school one night. Then it was a bit of risky place to be as it was frequented by undesirables but since then it has been cleaned up, made into a nice park and I thought it was a very pleasant place to be.

Actually called the priory of St Julien and St Botolph this is the first Augustinian priory in the UK. It was built by the Saxons, probably using some Roman bricks from earlier buildings and was founded as a priory around 1100 and was the place where canons lived together and served the town. Although the priory closed and was partially demolished in 1536 the church remained open until the civil war in the 1640s when it was caught in the crossfire of the assault on South Gate. A Gothic Victorian church was built next to the priory in 1837 and it is this church that still stands and is active today.