Essence of Essex

I was very excited to see that FirstSight, the controversial art gallery in Colchester is hosting an exhibition of photographs by Martin Parr until 2 October 2016. I haven’t been yet but will make a point of going along next time I am in the area and will of course report back.

Alongside the exhibition there is a free competition on the theme The Essence of Essex that is going to be judged by Martin Parr Himself!!!

It is an opportunity too good to miss, so I have trawled through my archive of photographs taken around Colchester, Brightlingsea and Essex and submitted a few. I have sorted a few more out and will submit them each week until the competition closes. Most photos will become part of an art installation in the gallery and there is a small prize for the weekly and overall winners.

Entries need to be made via their partner Zealous which turns out to be quite a useful site that links to all manner of photography competitions. On the Zealous site you can see all of the submissions so far and perhaps even vote for your favourite (hopefully mine of course).

 

