Self Promotion for Photographers Update

Since discovering Society 6 and writing about it in my previous post Self promotion for Photographers I have come across two other sites that I think compete very well.

Zazzle is a UK site  which means that ordered items can be purchased in pounds sterling and delivery times are much quicker. It has a huge range of products, much wider than Society 6 although some looked a bit tacky when I uploaded my photograph to them. It covers everything from t-shirts and cushions to usb sticks, guitar picks and headphones. On this site, you upload a photograph once but then have to load it onto each item you want to sell individually. It took me all evening to put my photograph on a range of products and by the end I was getting very bored, and being very selective about what I items I created.

These are a few of the items available on my Zazzle shop.

Redbubble is a similar website that is based in USA and in Australia. It has a good range of products that compares well with Society 6 but is not as diverse as Zazzle. What I like about this site is that you can upload an image once and it will automatically be placed on all items that it is suitable for. All you need to do after that is click through the items and ensure that the image is positioned perfectly. I uploaded a photograph and had a range of 41 products ready in less than an hour.

All three sites require photographers to promote their own products. The sites themselves draw a certain amount of traffic but there are so many artists on there that your items are easily lost. Although all sites allow you to link to your social media sites Redbubble is the only one that seems to provide html code that allows your online shop to be dropped into your own website.

I chose Redbubble to create a number of items that would compliment the images that I will be showing in my final exhibition. I will promote them on social media and see if anyone shows any interest in purchasing them!

 

