Travel Photographer of the Year

Next month entries open for the Travel Photographer of the Year competition.

TPOTY is competition run for photographers by photographers. Categories for last year included Faces People Encounters, Nature & Environment, Monochromal, Street Culture, A Moment in Light, Water, Colours of the World and iCaptured (for mobile phone images) as well as categories for short films and young photographers. Some of the categories require a portfolio of four photographs and a fee of £15 and others just a single image and a fee of £7.50.

Prizes include £1,000 in cash, city breaks or equipment. Winning images are also exhibited in London and in a touring exhibition and are included on postcards, greetings cards and portfolio books.

If I am going to be serious about travel photography this is something I really need to take part in. I will speak to my tutors about my current portfolio of images but the closing date is not until October so I have plenty of time.

 

