Self Promotion for Photographers

We have had a discussion in class about how best to promote ourselves and our businesses. We discussed the different social media outlets that we already use and shared ideas about others that we could use.

I already have a Facebook page, Twitter feed and an Instagram feed and we discussed the pros and cons of them suggesting that regular updates – around three per day is ideal. We also suggested that there should be a split between what we produce ourselves and what we repost from other people. If we find something interesting then our followers are likely to find it interesting too.

I was not previously aware of Society 6. An American website that allows you to print your photos on a range of products and to sell them in an online shop. Although all the sales are in American dollars I have set up an account, uploaded a few photos and begun to promote them on my social media sites. I’ve chosen subjects that I think are bright and colourful and will look good printed on the various different mediums. I think the products are a little expensive but I’m optimistic that someone may buy something and I’ll add further photographs over the coming weeks.

 

Saatchiart is another site I was unfamiliar with but it looks very good. It is a website where you can buy and sell art of all kinds in an online gallery, but with the Saatchi name behind it, it has more kudos than Artsy or other similar sites. I haven’t set up an account for Saatchiart yet but will do in a few weeks and I hope to be able to include my FMP photos on there for sale.

We also discussed posting photos to stock photography sites. We discussed several sites but I felt that Alamay was probably best for me as they do a really good deal for students and while I am a student I can make the most of it. I’ve set up an account, but haven’t yet uploaded any images to the site.

Self-promotion takes time and when I am busy it is one of the first things to get missed but I recognise that it is very important and if I get into the habit of routinely adding information to all of these sites now it will be better for me in the long-term.

1 thought on “Self Promotion for Photographers”

Comments are closed.