Watermarking and Resizing Photographs

A few weeks ago I asked the tutor to tell us about how to watermark our photographs and whether it was a good idea to do so or not. He suggested that a watermark is a good way of promoting ourselves or our business but that it wouldn’t guarantee that they would be safe from people determined to steal them.

To watermark my photos using Lightroom (my preferred programme) I need to be in the Library section and then Export.

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 22.12.05

In the export box there is a watermarking section, in this section the drop down gives an option for a simple Copyright Watermark, any pre-loaded watermarks and Edit Watermarks…

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 22.13.17

In the Edit Watermarks… box there are two options, an image or text watermark. I wanted to use my logo so under Image Options I choose a .png version of my logo from my computer. Then I went through the other options until I was happy with opacity, size and positioning of the logo and clicked Done.

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 22.13.33

When the watermark has been set, all I need to do is click on that Watermarking section each time I export a photo. However, in order to export photos for my website I have set up a preset called Website Ready.

In the Export Box I prepare all of the settings exactly how I want them, paying particular attention to the image sizing. 72 pixels is good enough for on screen and I choose 1,000 pixels along the long edge as this is a good size for fitting on the screen. I find these settings to be a good compromise of photo quality v download size.

Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 22.41.34

When the export settings were ready all I did was click on the Add button under the Preset box and name the preset. Now, every time I want to export images for my website I can click on the Website Ready preset and the settings will automatically adjust leaving me with perfectly resized and watermarked photos ready for upload to my website library.

 

