Know Your Camera – Focal Length

For this part of our Know Your Camera assignment we have been concentrating on focal length.

In the days of 35mm cameras, all lenses worked in a similar way and everyone know what it meant to have a focal length of 50 mm or 100mm. Now that we are in the digital age, lenses affect cameras differently depending on the size of the camera’s sensor. For example a 50mm lens on a DSLR is one thing but because a camera phone has a much smaller sensor a 50mm lens would be very much more zoomed in.

I had always thought that my Sony a77 had a full sized sensor and that my lenses worked the same as they did when I had a 35mm camera but in doing this exercise I see that it isn’t.

I started by taking a photograph with my lens on its widest setting then taking three more photographs at different focal lengths, trying to keep my subject at the same size and position in the viewfinder. The last image was taken with my lens at its most zoomed.

Focal Length 18mm / Focal Length 35mm 27mm
Focal Length 18mm / Focal Length 35mm 27mm
Focal Length 55mm / Focal Length 35mm 82mm
Focal Length 55mm / Focal Length 35mm 82mm
Focal Length 100mm / Focal Length 35mm 150mm
Focal Length 100mm / Focal Length 35mm 150mm
Focal Length 200mm / Focal Length 35mm  300mm
Focal Length 200mm / Focal Length 35mm 300mm

I have labelled each photograph with the focal length of my lens and the 35mm equivalent.

In Lightroom I changed the image to black and white and increased the contrast. In black and white you are not distracted by the very green grass around the graves.

 

