Mastering Keywords in Lightroom: Part 1

As I’ve been learning Lightroom this year, I found this blog post very useful. I think I may have to spend some time creating a keyword list over the next couple of months.

Photofocus (old site)

Keywording is one of those tasks that many photographers dread, put off, forget about, and then at some point in the future wish they had done more thoroughly from the start. I am guilty of this myself. Applying keywords (or tags) to your photos allows you to leverage the power of Lightroom’s database (catalog) to help you find, filter, and organize your photos in a variety of ways (and it only gets more powerful over time). The only downside is that it is a manual process that we just have to make ourselves follow through on a regular basis. In the first segment of this series on keywording we’ll look at the process of developing a keyword list.

Create a Hierarchy

Before you start to apply keywords to your photos it really helps to begin by giving some thought to creating a keyword list in a hierarchical structure inside the…

View original post 1,449 more words

