KCFM Firework Extravaganza

To prepare for this event I practised taking pictures of fireworks at an event a few days beforehand. Then I made sure that I packed my tripod for this event too. I didn’t want to use a flash as I don’t really like the effect a flash gun gives so knew that I would need to use the tripod for photos other than just the fireworks.

It is early days in my work with KCFM and the message hadn’t gotten through to the team on site that I would be attending. A quick check of their emails though and I was greeted very warmly.

I planned to take photographs not only of the fireworks but of the KCFM street team and presenter Darren Letham too. The lighting was very poor and despite turning up my ISO I wasn’t happy with many of the photos that I took.

These are a few of the better photos that I took at the KCFM Firework Extravaganza.

It was a much busier event than I anticipated, with only about 30 or 40 minutes to take photos before the fireworks. The fireworks themselves were excellent, set to music and lasted a good 20 minutes or so.

I think I managed to capture the atmosphere of the event, but would have liked to have taken more photographs of the staff and presenter at work had the crowds allowed.

The photos were emailed to the KCFM team the following morning.

