Contemporary Vanitas Prep

My aim to take a traditional looking Vanitas image using things that I would usually throw away. So the props I will need are:

  • Wastepaper basket
  • Variety of clean waste / recycling
  • I won’t take a take a cloth as I want to use the surface of the table in the studio

I want to recreate natural soft window light on the display, looking as though it will be coming from one side. So I plan to set up the studio to look like this.

lighting-diagram-jfsklq8n3f

So I will need the following equipment:

  • Tripod
  • Light meter
  • Medium softbox
  • Barn doors
  • Honeycomb
  • I’ll use the black background that is already in the studio

I will be placing the camera to frame the items quite tightly on a small table and want to have everything in focus, so I expect to use an aperture of around F8.

 

