Robyn Woolston

We had an interesting talk from Robyn Woolston this week.

Robyn is an artist that works across several disciplines and is also an activist. Working predominantly with waste materials, she aims not only to make us think about what we throw away but also about how we use various ‘waste’ spaces.

Smart Price

In her work Robyn has used thousands of reclaimed plastic knives and forks, plastic bags, lanyards and plastic gift cards. Items that would otherwise be sent to landfill and take several hundred years to degrade

I really like the way her work is so focused on her message. She has a clear understanding of what she wants people to think about and sticks very firmly to that.

Robyn explained how her own work was informed by her circumstances and the the death of her mother, pointing out that discussion about waste is closely related to discussion about death.

It has led me to think about what I throw away and what that says about me. Perhaps my own Vanitas photographs should be based around what I throw away.

More of Robyn’s work can be found at www.robynwoolston.com

